CIRM's Structure & People

CIRM is a non-profit NGO (Non-Governmental Organisation), with a professional Secretariat based in London. CIRM's Board of Directors is made up of representatives of 15 CIRM member companies. To learn more about CIRM's people and organisational structure, use the tabs below.


Frances Baskerville


Richard Doherty

Chief Technical Officer

Philip Lane

Technical Officer

Kim Fisher

Technical Consultant; Secretary IEC TC80

Jane van Tonder

Financial Controller

Colleen Wyatt

Executive Assistant

Board of Directors

The CIRM Board of Directors comprises representatives of CIRM Full Member companies and includes the President and Vice-President.

Representative Company
Peter Andersen (President) Cobham SATCOM
Athina Vezyri (Vice-President) SRH Marine Electronics SAIT
Hans Ottosen (Vice-President) Danelec Marine
Kazuma Waimatsu Furuno Electric Co.
Peter Broadhurst Inmarsat
Shintaro Inoue Japan Radio Company
Russell Gould Kelvin Hughes
Brendan Saunders NCC Group
James Collett Northrop Grumman Sperry Marine
Robin George Orolia Group
Paul Smulders Radio Holland
Jan Christopher Lütt Raytheon-Anschütz GmbH
Michael Bergmann Safebridge
Claudio Aleandri SIRM, Societa Italiana Radio Marittima
Holger Mahnke Wärtsilä SAM Electronics GmbH

Organisational structure

Working Groups

CIRM's Working Groups meet in person on occasion, and throughout the rest of the year progress their work through email correspondence. A short summary of each WG's current focus is provided below.

WG Name Scope
Cyber Risk Working Group
Convenor: Phil Lane
Draw on the expertise of the CIRM membership to develop cyber security best practice and guidance for both the membership and CIRM’s partner organisations.
ECDIS Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
Concerned with all matters relating to ECDIS and electronic charting.
E-navigation Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
Concerned with e-navigation, focusing on CIRM's role with e-navigation and contributing to development of the Strategy Implementation Plan (SIP).
MASS Working Group (Maritime Autonomous Surface Ships)
Convenor: Phil Lane
Monitors developments related to Maritime Autonomous Surface Ships, both from a regulatory and technical perspective, enabling CIRM to respond appropriately.
Radar Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
Concerned with all matters relating to marine radar, and is currently working via correspondence.
Radiocommunications Working Group
Convenor: Phil Lane
Focused on all general radiocommunications matters, including those related to the GMDSS. At present the group is considering, among other matters, the Review and Modernization of the GMDSS work being undertaken by IMO.
S-Mode Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
Developing CIRM's contribution to the planned IMO output "Guidelines on standardized modes of operation, S-Mode", scheduled for delivery 2018-2019.
Service Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
Dedicated to those CIRM members involved in servicing ship equipment, this Working Group reflects the evolving nature of the CIRM membership.
Type Approval Working Group
Convenor: Phil Lane
Focuses on Type Approval and MED issues, including the recast MED (MkII), the new Radio Equipment Directive to replace the R&TTE Directive, US FCC issues, and all international Type Approval concerns.
VDR Working Group
Convenor: Richard Doherty
This WG focuses on VDR issues, including VDR APT concerns and the revised Performance Standard MSC.333(90)

Board Committees

The Board of Directors has a number of Committees responsible for considering specific aspects of governance.

WG Name Scope
Technical Steering Committee Chair: Peter Broadhurst
Membership Committee Chair: Athina Vezyri
Recruitment Committee Chair: Hans Ottosen
Remuneration Committee Chair: Peter Andersen